Five Needed for Diocesan Pastoral Council
June 22, 2017

DIOCESE—Five openings exist on the Diocesan Pastoral Council, one each for a lay representative from the Aurora, DeKalb, Elgin, McHenry and Sterling Deanery.

The council addresses matters of pastoral concern that Bishop David Malloy raises.

He may also invite the council itself to raise matters of pastoral concern that may be forwarded to the Presbyteral Council to be part of their agenda.

The criteria for serving on the DPC are being a practicing Catholic in good standing in the Church who has shown commitment in a parish.

Learn more

Deaneries may be identified by consulting the diocesan map at

Contact information for the deans may be found at

The candidate should possess good judgment, common sense, and be able to appreciate the wide spectrum of ministries and services that the diocese provides.

Each representative will serve a three-year term, beginning with the Sept. 9 meeting. This term may be renewed once.

Representatives attend quarterly meetings, generally held on the first Saturday of September after Labor Day, and the first Saturday of December, March and June. All meetings are held at the Diocesan Administration Center in Rockford from 9 a.m. to noon.

Prospective members may nominate themselves by contacting the dean of their deanery. Deans are:

n Aurora — Rev. Msgr. Arquimedes Vallejo;

n DeKalb — Very Rev. Matthew McMorrow;

n Elgin – Rev. Msgr. Stephen Knox;

n McHenry — Rev. Msgr. Daniel Hermes; and

n Sterling — Very Rev. James Keenan.

Nominations must be made in writing and sent by postal mail or email by July 14.

Candidates should list their current and past involvement in church life and explain in their own words why they wish to be a part of the DPC.