Steps Taken Toward Permanent Diaconate
By Amanda Hudson, News Editor
January 27, 2022
ROCKFORD—Several men who are progressing toward becoming permanent deacons took significant steps in simple ceremonies on Jan. 22 at the Cathedral of St. Peter.
During Morning Prayer of the Liturgy of the Hours, Msgr. Glenn Nelson, J.C.L., vicar general, admitted nine men as candidates as part of the diaconate class of 2024. A tenth, unable to attend the event, is planned to become a candidate at a later date. Msgr. Nelson served in the role at the bequest of Bishop David Malloy, whose schedule prevented his attendance.
Admission to Candidacy means these men have publicly expressed their intention to receive ordination as deacons and to serve others in the spirit of compassionate presence as an ordained cleric.
Mass followed the morning prayer. After the Gospel reading, 17 men of the diaconate class of 2022 were installed as acolytes, joining class member Dean Schroeder who was previously installed. 
They were called forth by Deacon Robert Mitchison, interim director of the Office of the Permanent Diaconate, and installed by Msgr. Nelson. Part of that rite of installation was for each man to hold a chalice and paten handed to them by Msgr. Nelson. 
The ministry of acolyte is the final step before ordination. Their ministry as acolytes includes assisting the priest and deacon at the altar during Mass. They will serve during liturgies, distribute holy Communion and purify sacred vessels.
“It takes some courage … self-sacrifice is counter cultural,” Msgr. Nelson said in his remarks to the acolytes. “What a great day to be called to be humble ministers … (and) offer yourself daily to God.”
Acolytes: Class of 2022
These 18 men will complete their formation this summer and are scheduled for ordination to the permanent diaconate this fall. 
Aurora -- Holy Angels: Christopher Michael Ragsdale
Batavia -- Holy Cross: Dean Edward Schroeder
Carpentersville -- St. Monica: Enrique del Carmen Nolasco
Cary -- SS. Peter and Paul: Robert Wayne Buerer
Crystal Lake -- St. Elizabeth Ann Seton: Stanley Casimir Klatka
Elgin -- St. Joseph: Rafael Villagomez Jr.
Hampshire -- St. Charles Borromeo: Christopher Bradley Olson
Harvard -- St. Joseph: David Charles Dollman
McHenry -- St. Patrick: Michael James Schneck
North Aurora -- Blessed Sacrament: Kenneth Stephen McLaughlin
Rockford -- 
St. Edward: Noel Fajardo Benitez, Gabriel Palacios Castellano
St. Rita: Paul Anthony Sanderson
St. Charles --
St. John Neumann: Shawn Milton Glanville
St. Patrick: Steven Ronald Jolly
Sterling -- Sacred Heart: Kevin Michael Nestor
Sugar Grove -- St. Katharine Drexel: Michael Brent Winger
Woodstock -- St. Mary: Mel Gutierrez Gaytan
Candidates: Class of 2024
These nine men were admitted as candidates as part of the diaconate class of 2024. 
Algonquin -- St. Margaret Mary: Roman Peter Budek
Carpentersville -- St. Monica: Jose Pasillas Gonzalez
Dixon -- St. Patrick: James Keith Adams
Harvard -- St. Joseph: James Gerald Hruza
Marengo -- Sacred Heart: Bill Salvador Rivas
McHenry -- Holy Apostles: Jose Carbajal Dominguez 
Rochelle -- St. Patrick: Gbesimide Prosper Agbetrobu
St. Charles -- St. Patrick: Kenneth Karl Konetzki, Jose Phillip


Shop Religious items at HOLYART.COM