Kane, McHenry Counties Reach Phase 4 Restrictions
February 18, 2021
DIOCESE—As of Feb. 9, Kane and McHenry counties join the rest of the Diocese of Rockford in Phase 4.
Bishop David Malloy sent updated instructions to priests in the parishes in both counties last week.
The two counties cover all of the McHenry, Elgin, and Aurora deaneries, as well as part of the DeKalb Deanery.
The update, which recognizes reduced rates of COVID in both counties, means all the parishes in the diocese may hold Masses and sacramental gatherings for up to 30% capacity as long as all other distancing, disinfecting and other health measures are followed.
The Mass dispensation for those with health problems or other risk factors remains 
in effect.
Non-sacramental gatherings may include at most 25 people or 25% of room capacity. 
Parishes may opt to allow other groups such as Knights of Columbus or scouting groups to meet on their premises using the same attendance caps as for other non-sacramental gatherings.
All parishes must continue to have visitations and wakes at funeral homes rather than in churches.
Religious education programs are considered non-sacramental gatherings and must follow the guidelines for such meetings.
Elementary and high schools will continue to follow the guidelines set by the diocesan Office of Education.
See details at www.rockforddiocese.org
Shop Religious items at HOLYART.COM