Last Year’s Honorees Feted At 2021 Women of Year Event
By Amanda Hudson, News Editor
November 11, 2021
ROCKFORD—The Rockford Deanery Council of Catholic Women held its 28th annual Catholic Women of the Year Banquet on Nov. 7 at Francesco’s Ristorante, here.
Because the event had to be cancelled last year after honorees had already been chosen by their parishes, those 2020 women were honored this year by most parishes of the Rockford Deanery which encompasses Winnebago and Boone counties as well as part of Ogle and Stephenson counties.
Diane Roman, deanery president, welcomed the crowd and Josie Whaley, diocesan CCW president also gave greetings. Bishop David Malloy provided the blessing before dinner was served. 
Dinner was followed by the introduction of honorees and presentation of awards, concluding with benediction and remarks from Father Kenneth Stachyra, spiritual advisor for the Rockford Deanery CCW, who highlighted the often-present quality of humility in the annual honorees.
Each of the parish nominations noted their parish was “blessed,” “honored,” or “thankful” for all the work and leadership shown by their honoree.
The Rockford Deanery 2020 Women of Inspiration, recognized in 2021, are:
Belvidere -- St. James: Barbara Olson
Durand/Irish Grove -- St. Mary/St. Patrick: Margaret (Peggy) Stewart
Loves Park -- St. Bridget: Sue Claus
Pecatonica -- St. Mary: Jeanne Johns
Cathedral of St. Peter: Nancy Gough
Holy Family: Patricia Roskowski
St. Anthony of Padua: Patricia Creamer (posthumously)
St. Bernadette: Joanne Broadus (not present)
St. Edward: Claudia Soberanes
St. James: Claudia Woodward
St. Mary Oratory: Adrienne Marie Majewski
St. Patrick: Maria dal Socorro Bautista
SS. Peter and Paul: Victoria Montoya
St. Rita: Laura Ortiz
St. Stanislaus Kostka: Susan (Dzielak) Moberg
Roscoe -- Church of the Holy Spirit: Jane Carrell
Shop Religious items at HOLYART.COM